Eric & Julie – Part I

Congratulations to Eric & Julie. The couple are actually from Australia, and they came back to Brunei for a simple wedding ceremony organised by their family. A very sweet and easy-going couple, I had lots of fun getting to know them and shooting their wedding. Once again, I shot this wedding with Jeff, who also posted some of his shots on his blog.

All the shots below are from the morning session, followed by a quick photoshoot at Empire in the afternoon.

When I got to the bride’s place early in the morning, I saw a clothesline running across the span of her room… I knew it’d be great for a shoe shot. 🙂 Charles & Keith, bought last minute at Changi Airport.

shoes-dress

Make-up-artist doing her thing as a friend looks on. I like how a hint of motion blur gives this picture more life.

getting-ready

Quirky shot again! Which reminds me… Chinese New Year is coming soon!

clock

Almost ready… I positioned myself so that only part of her face would show in the mirror and then a b/w conversion to add to the “mysterious” feel of this image.

almost1

There we go. Ready for the groom’s arrival…

julie-portrait

He makes it in without too much effort… haha.

eric-kneel

Although hardly original, I love these shots. 🙂

flowers1

Arrival at the Groom’s place.

arriving

Playing with motion blurs again. Your subjects have to be relatively still while other elements of the story are moving… I waited for Julie to hold out the tea cup and pressed the shutter as the relative reached out to receive it.

tea-ceremony

Love the colours in this – a combination of an open door on the left, and tungsten lighting indoors.

cake-cutting

It’s off to Empire. A quick photoshoot at 2pm wasn’t the best light, and it was a bit hot to go to the beach. :p So we did most of it indoors and went to a few shaded spots outside.

empire

Let’s get the “safe” shots out of the way… these are the stairs next to Spaghettini’s.

empire-pose1

Stairs again… Can’t go wrong shooting stairs. Just like bridges and road bends, they add photographic interest.

empire-pose2

Pose set up by Jeff. Again, he’s shooting with the 70-200mm and I opted for a wide angle shot.

empire-pose3

Pose set up by Jeff. While he was directing the couple, I took the time to set up my 580EX II on a tripod camera left. But the shadows would have already told you that. :p The rest of the image is intentionally underexposed by around 2 stops.

empire-pose4

This is the 85mm f/1.2 in action. 🙂 Set at f/2.2 tho just to ensure that the subjects are sharp – DOF at f/1.2 is razor-thin and unforgiving. After all, it’s the quality of the bokeh that’s as (if not more) important as “how blurry the background is” (for lack of a better phrase).

empire-pose61

Got up close to capture the arch. I think this has an old-school movie look to it. 🙂

empire-pose51

Ring shot! I rummaged through my bag wanting to pull out the 100 f/2.8 macro… but realised I left it at home. No matter… 135mm f/2 to the rescue again. With a great maximum magnification (for a non-macro lens) I managed to get decently close. 🙂

ring

Check back soon for shots from the wedding dinner at i-lotus!

About this entry