Eric & Julie – Part II

On to Eric & Julie’s Dinner Reception… it’s the rainy season in Brunei now, and it was pouring. The streetlamp on the right illuminates the rain and the puddles on the ground… 

eric-julie-1

Once again, before too many guests arrive, I grab the necessary detail shots. I always try to do something a little bit different with each wedding. Coming up with new ways to shoot a banquet menu can be a bit of a creative stretch, but I really liked how this one turned out. 

eric-julie-2

In the waiting room… have to make sure that there are enough guests in the reception area before the couple makes their grand entrance. Jeff and I had a nice chat with Eric & Julie – She’s a research officer and he works in the Navy! Pity he didn’t bring his military uniform…

eric-julie-4

The flower girls leading the entrance by throwing confetti. The shadows are a bit harsh because the ceiling was low… and the dark walls didn’t provide much in the way of fill light. Still, I prefer this to direct flash any day. 

eric-julie-5

They look happy – smiling faces of a bride & groom are never hard to come by at a wedding. 🙂 Nevertheless, I try to capture as many of these moments as I can…

eric-julie-6

Entertainment for the night was a variety of dances. This was one of my favourite – cowgirls. 

eric-julie-7

A more traditional theme…

eric-julie-8

Eric had a bit of trouble getting the cork off, and so he was shaking the bottle pretty vigorously. :p 

eric-julie-9

There we go! My favourite shot from the wedding. Never being able to anticipate when that cork is gonna pop off… I keep on clicking away in hopes that I get a shot like this one. 🙂 A shutter speed of 1/15 turns the water droplets into streaks like you see here. 🙂

eric-julie-10

Made sure both their faces were visible… you might notice a water droplet on my lens causing that blotch on the left side of the picture… nothing to be too worried about. 🙂

eric-julie-11

More happy moments while the couple go around to meet the guests.

eric-julie-12

Jeff working it from a different angle. This is where I got this shot. You can see the lamp… 

eric-julie-13

Taken by Cyndi… Last photo – Jeff and I got a shot with Eric & Julie after our job was done. Another huge congratulations to Eric & Julie. Wishing you plenty of happiness in your new lives together! 🙂

eric-julie-15

About this entry