Penfolds Bin 389 Cabernet Shiraz 2004

This is not a wine review – you can read about it here.

Nearly 2 years ago, 5 friends and I signed on a bottle of this wine… vowing that we would open it in 10(?) to 15(?) years, the recommended cellaring time according to Penfolds – I forget how long it was meant to be… :p Sounds a bit like FRIENDS – making such a pact, wondering if we would be still the close friends that we were back then. Or even still in touch, let alone close friends. Sounds very romantic and all… one of the signatories, Priscilla, joked that when it came time to open the bottle I might be dismayed to discover that my future son had already drank it!

Today, only 2 of us still live in Bandar… the other four are in KB, Manchester, Hong Kong and Melbourne. They say it’s a small world, but sometimes it feels so large as well…

Well, it just so happens that during this Chinese New Year, we’ve had lots of overseas friends back in Brunei. Unable to resist the temptation anymore, Marilyn suggested we open the sacred bottle. πŸ™‚ Here’s a picture with her holding it right before we opened it – with the signatures of Edmund, Matt, Pris, Yuhan, Marilyn and my own.

maz

Apparently the original pact included a clause that if I had failed to keep the bottle for the prescribed time – I had to treat everyone to a holiday at the Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui. Good thing Marilyn excused me from this obligation.

As for the wine itself, it was great! Perhaps it was the sentimentality attached to it as well, but like a wine connoisseur once told me on how to appreciate a bottle of wine – if it tastes good, then it’s good. πŸ™‚

About this entry