Chui Hian’s Birthday

Wow it’s been ages since I blogged! I guess it’s because I haven’t been shooting nearly as often as I’d like to… 😦

I have bought a 16-35mm f/2.8 + 5D Mark II! I am still acquainting myself with the camera and the focal length (16mm FOV on full-frame is unchartered territory for me)… perspective gets screwed up when shooting ultra-wide… and because it “sees” so much, it’s tough to control all the elements within the frame.

 Also, given that my favourite shooting style is portraits and people… ultra-wide skews features and subjects can look strange to downright unflattering if not handled right… I’m still working these things out… :s

Nevertheless, I brought the camera and took some casual snaps at a colleague’s birthday party… my keeper rate was much lower than usual, but the conditions were tough too. It’s hard to tell from the photos but it was dark.

How dark? f/2.8, 1/30, ISO 6400 dark! Mostly available light, but I put a CTO gel on my speedlite and set FEC to -2 just for a touch of fill. Love the warm and natural colours. 🙂

img_0614

img_0617

Whoops… those red lines are caused by the AF-assist beams from the speedlite.

img_0623

img_0628

See what I mean about people getting skewed? But the flowers look nice haha.

img_0630

Quickly grabbed a 3/4 portrait with the 35mm focal length. Background sucks, sorry.

img_06311

The blue jeans and black socks is me… tip toeing and holding the camera above my head to get this shot.

img_0655

All shots above shot at ISO6400… to be honest, the RAW files are a bit too noisy for my taste… for facebook or blog size images, sure it’s hardly visible. Perhaps if well exposed and after some noise reduction work, I’d dare print 8×12… but I would be a bit reluctant to use ISO6400 when shooting a wedding or event. Of course, if it’s a choice between that and not getting the shot at all, it’s a no-brainer. Having said that, I’ve survived with ISO800 on my 40D all this while…

I hope to blog more often!

About this entry