Contrast and Colours…

I’ve been neglecting my photography a little bit lately… so I made it a point to spend a couple hours somewhere… anywhere… to take some pictures. Town seemed convenient enough… and so I went with my new 5d and 16-35mm lens. 

Initially I was a little bit disappointed because the light was quite flat… but oh well, I was out there with my camera already, so we make do.

A couple of standard shots of our mosque to start with… I’m sure they’ve been captured from these angles many times before under better conditions…

img_0811

img_0811

Long walkway leading to the mosque from the other side…

img_0811

Ventured into Kg. Ayer…

img_0811

A less conventional shot of the mosque…

img_0811

Yayasan is probably the shopping mall that most of our visitors in Brunei will go to. The building on the left is a school, it’s amazing to think that we’re one of the richest countries in the world. 

img_0811

That’s a toilet in the corner of what used to be someone’s house?? 

img_0811

You don’t see this in our “Visit Brunei” adverts…

img_0811

Ok ok… back to photography. 

Wow… I was lucky here… somehow the sun setting and the clouds being where they were kept the water and sky on the right side of the walkway orange and the left side a much cooler blue. My fave of the lot. 

img_0811

With the 5d2 I’ll never need a tripod again!

img_0811

img_0811

Whoops! Spoke too soon… after a couple of failed attempts at 1 second @ f/2.8 ISO3200… I pulled out the tripod. This is during earth hour… That’s Rena posing by the door to the balcony… it was so disappointing that none of our neighbours seemed to have switched off their lights. So I made this shot intending to show just how bright it was outside… 

img_0811

I should do this more often… usually my camera only comes out at events, birthday parties and weddings… 🙂

About this entry