The Epic Part 1 – Weekend in Singapore

Congratulations to Marilyn and Allen on their engagement! I know I’ve said this many times in person… but I’m so happy for you guys. I’m so honoured to be your wedding photographer, and I’m probably looking forward to shooting your big day nearly as much as you guys are for your big day! 

Marilyn is the big sister that I’ve never had. 🙂 One of the most influential people in my life and always there to give advice when I need it – or sometimes even when I think I don’t. :p 

Why “The Epic”? 

The wedding will be in January… but over the next few months until their big day, I’ll be posting on my preparations for shooting one of the most important weddings I’ll ever be a part of. So stay tuned to this series of blog posts… Anyway, enjoy the photos! 

All photos taken with a 5D2 and 35L.

Two friends of mine, Ed & Yuhan flew with me to Singapore to meet up with the newly engaged couple to celebrate.

The view from a hotel room in the Fairmont Hotel, where we were staying. Handheld. Photography has come a long way hasn’t it? 🙂 

1

We had a couple of bottles of Perrier Jouet for a toast. 

2

Love this picture for some reason – pity about the water bottle, but hey. Something a little unconventional but I think the composition works. 🙂

3

After this shot I was too busy enjoying the drinks to take photos. :p

4

On saturday night we went to a restaurant called Pasta Brava. I’ll be blogging about it in my next post with some food pics and my thoughts of the place. For now I’ll just say that I can’t wait to go back there again!

5

They had those newspaper style menus…

6

Ed checking out the Panasonic Lumix-LX3. Might get one of those as my last-resort-p&s… apparently it does great macro shots too. No need to set up the tripod + attach my 100mm Macro.

7

After dinner we went to club called Balaclava in Suntech City. A quick grab of Allen’s friends who were impressed that I could take a picture of them without flash. How dark was it? Well, this was ISO3200, f/1.4, 1/25. And I probably pushed it another stop in PP. Ah, how did I ever survive without the 5D2. 

9

One of my faves… it just really brings me back to being there. Wonder what Yuhan was thinking about?

8

This girl talking to Marilyn and Allen was having her hens’ night. I ran a plug-in that reproduced the effects of having ISO 100 T-Max B&W film… 

10

The last two were cropped to a 16:9 aspect ratio. To give the pics a cinematic feel to them. 🙂

11

12

Well, that’s it for now… 🙂 I know I haven’t been blogging that much lately, but I’ve got a few weddings coming up soon that I’m covering, so I’ll be sure to post on those. 

Also, I’ve ordered a Nikkor lens on ebay… waiting for it to arrive and I can’t wait to test it out.

What? A Nikkor you say? *gasp*

About this entry