Cake and Card

Apparently it’s chinese custom for the groom to deliver cakes to relatives (and close friends?) upon announcement of an engagement. Marilyn and Allen spent 6 hours(!) on Friday delivering cakes to a number of relatives… driving all around Bandar… I can only imagine how tiring that must be. Nevertheless, that evening after dinner at Excapade, they came over to my place and there was a cake for me too. 🙂 The cake, from Breadstop, came with a card you see here. 

28

The announcement card… the caricature of Allen and Marilyn was done in… can you guess? It should be obvious. :p

28

This is the back of the card, I went for an old school look to it. Super grainy and vignette+blurring of the edges. 

28

A couple of random shots… I was trying to emulate the look/colours that came out from the Hexar+35mm Summicron+Fuji 400 that I used at a christmas party last year. Somehow I still think the film shots look better – no time wasted post processing either! Having said that, I do not think that my Canon 35L loses out to the 35mm Summicron-M in terms of sharpness. 🙂 And… I could shoot in ISO1600 – four times the shutter speed of ISO 400 film (the fastest I could find available in Brunei)… 

28

28

A group shot…

28

With a X-process action. Haha my red shirt really pops out here.

28

It’s not immediately obvious from this small size pic, but I did a comic book effect thingie here which was something interesting. 🙂

28

Oh… what about the cake you say? Here it is… after numerous attempts. :p Set up my flash off-camera to the right – the cake was sitting on a white chair. Ed commented that he loved the “negative space” – I like it too, but I thought I’d put a commemorative message – definitely not as artistic, but maybe it’d make a nice greeting card – what do you think? 🙂

28

About this entry