A Jordanian Wedding – Rim & Ala Part 1

I am back from Jordan! I’ve got pics on my facebook… 

Anyway, Jordan is not a country I would have ever thought of visiting, but definitely no regrets. It was an unexpectedly amazing experience. Petra, The Dead Sea & Ancient Roman towns – but I also got to experience a Jordanian wedding. 🙂 So anyway, this series of photos are some snaps of the night before the wedding. It’s called a “Henna” night – I’ve read that originally it’s meant for girls only, but we were all invited. 🙂 I didn’t set out to do this intentionally, but I think I will give this series of photos a theme – “Motion Blur”. Sharpness if overrated I say – lol or maybe it was just too dark! 

Anyway, Rim is Rena’s best friend from Uni and Ala is (now) her husband.

It was great to have met you guys and I hope you enjoy the photos – they’re something a little different, but these photos really brought me back to being there, and similarly I hope that it brings you back to those moments – the feelings and emotions that defined the day. 🙂 

Here’s Rim explaining some stuff to us on the bus. 

Rim-&-Ala-100

The yellow bus that took us to the place. 

Rim-&-Ala-101

Rim-&-Ala-100

Jordanians love to party! Practically everyone there was on the dance floor!

Rim-&-Ala-100

Rim-&-Ala-100

I like how she stands out among everyone else in the frame.

Rim-&-Ala-100

I actually took this shot at the end, but I just wanted to show a simple candlelight portrait of the bride and groom with their traditional clothes on.

Rim-&-Ala-100

The Henna… basically there’s a cake of mud with candles on it… the mud is then applied to the pinky finger, and when left over a couple of hours, will leave an orange pigmentation. The bride and groom get it, then all the single people too – it symbolises blessing of luck, joy and beauty. 🙂 I got some applied too!

Rim-&-Ala-100

Lots of cameras and video!

Rim-&-Ala-100

Rim-&-Ala-100

All the guests chanting “Henna!” – blessing the married couple to be.

Rim-&-Ala-100

Rim-&-Ala-100

Photos of the wedding day in Part 2!

About this entry