A Jordanian Wedding – Rim & Ala Part 2

The wedding day! It starts off with the bride coming to the groom’s place for something like a tea ceremony. Except it was coffee. And the groom wasn’t there either! Hmm… I must find out what the reason behind the customs are. 🙂 Will update this post once I do have that info. (wikipedia isn’t any help at the moment – not that I use wiki for any serious research, I must state!) 

Not wanting to be intrusive, I stayed behind the guests and relatives as Rim made her entrance. 

Rim-&-Ala-100

Stuck my camera out in between a couple of guests and just shot blindly! That’s another way to go. 🙂

Rim-&-Ala-100

The bride poses for friends as they grab pictures of her.

Rim-&-Ala-100

Rim looked over and I managed to get this one posed shot of her. Gorgeous, isn’t she? I didn’t need to pp this one bit!

Rim-&-Ala-100

Off to the church – it’s an orthodox church.

Rim-&-Ala-100

Rim-&-Ala-100

I’m loving my 16-35L. But the next series of shots are why it’s the 135L that I would take to my grave. (if I could only have one lens buried with me…)

Rim-&-Ala-100

The groom, Ala, makes his entrance. 

Rim-&-Ala-100

Followed by the groomsmen and bridesmaids…

Rim-&-Ala-100

Rim-&-Ala-100

Rim-&-Ala-100

Here comes the bride…

Rim-&-Ala-100

Rim-&-Ala-100

The crowns represent matyrdom – marriage represents self-sacrifice and unconditional devotion. 

Rim-&-Ala-100

The priest leads the couple to walk around three times representing their first steps as husband and wife.

Rim-&-Ala-100

Preparing to make their exit…

Rim-&-Ala-100

Rim-&-Ala-100

Rim-&-Ala-100

Check out part 3 for photos of the reception!

About this entry