Liz & Hua – Morning from KB to BSB

I met Liz from a wedding I shot earlier this year where she was the make-up artist, and I’m really honoured that she chose me to shoot her wedding. Once again, I shot this wedding with Jeff, and having covered a number of weddings together now, I have to say we’re really quite a team. 🙂 Check out his coverage here.

Congratulations to Liz & Hua and I wish you the very best in your life together as husband and wife!

I shot this wedding with two bodies, the 5D2 and my newly acquired 7D. Lenses used were mostly 16-35mm on the 5D2 and a 50mm on the 7D for just that little bit of telephoto. We don’t get a lot of working distance when it comes to chinese weddings!

I took a few images of their wedding invitation and I really like how these turned out. In case you’re wondering about the first photo, the invite had a heart cut-out which I used to create that effect.

LizHua1

LizHua1

I wonder if this is in chronological order from left to right, but if I had to guess I’d say the centre photo was taken first.

LizHua1

Liz did her own make-up, but a friend helps her put on the finishing touches for her hair.

LizHua1

LizHua1

The first attempt at this, the flowers weren’t in the frame, I just waited for Hua’s smiling face and flowers to be aligned in the little gap and grabbed this shot.

LizHua1

LizHua1

After the tea ceremony and family portraits, it’s off to the groom’s place – a 1.5 hour journey from KB to Bandar!

LizHua1

Upon arrival, one of the first things is to pay respects to ancestors.

LizHua1

Hua serves tea to a proud father.

LizHua1

His mother is very happy too. 🙂

LizHua1

A couple of quick portraits with the couple using window light. 🙂 I’m quite proud of these – no fancy poses, compositions or complicated lighting setups – just simple photos of Liz & Hua on their most memorable of days.

lizhua12

To be continued in part 2 – the wedding dinner. Stay tuned!

About this entry